still doing that brain surgery thing?

Vicki St.Clair shares an interview on her blog, bibisbeat.com with an author of a wonderful book for writers. I could certainly relate to it. But it’s more than just describing how we get in our own way when it comes to writing. Dani very carefully describes what writing is about: “cracking the code in your head, figuring out how to articulate it on the page, how to take this chaos, this longing, and this vision, these bits and pieces, and create something that has coherence and integrity on the page.” She articulates beautifully what every writer strives for.

Bibi's Beat: Chapter II

I rarely need to purchase books these days—one of the delicious perks of being a radio host. But I still embrace the meditative state of browsing bookstore shelves, trailing my fingers along the neatly aligned spines of multicolored book jackets, hoping to discover a new treasure, a new author, a new idea, a book written just for me.

Still Writing: The Perils and Pleasures of a Creative Life by Dani Shapiro. I pick it up, glance at front and back covers. I let the book fall open to the page of its choice. I start reading. I look for a chair and read some more. I read as I wait in line to pay for the book. And when I get home, I lean against the kitchen counter and read as the electric kettle heats up.

I pour boiling water into my ‘special moments’ teapot, stirring lemon and ginger tealeaves, and…

View original post 1,092 more words

About dkbunnell

Author, blogger, speaker.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to still doing that brain surgery thing?

  1. I enjoyed this book. Thank you for highlighting it!

Leave a Reply

