The Ice Ax – Postponed

When The Protest came out in hardback in 2003, I was invited to do a reading at a university in North Carolina. As part of my introduction, the librarian (who sponsored the event at the university) used a Kafka quote in describing my book:

“If the book we are reading does not wake us, as with a fist hammering on our skulls, then why do we read it? …What we must have are those books that come on us like ill fortune, like the death of one we love better than ourselves, like suicide. A book must be an ice axe to break the sea frozen inside us.”

What a master Kafka was of the language in expressing his view of the reason we should read. I am still awe-struck whenever I read that quote. And I am humbled when I think of his words being used to describe my novel.

This post is to let you know that although I was intent on releasing the e-book version of The Protest by the end of July, the timing is not quite right, and so the Ice Axe is postponed. I am about to embark on a Media Campaign to get The Protest on the radio and before a larger audience. Sorry for the game change, but I think it will help the launch of the e-book to be even more successful, so it’ll be worth the wait. Not sure exactly when it will be released, but I will make an announcement when all of the stars are aligned for a successful launch. In the meantime, anyone who’s had a brush with organized religion and would describe it as a firebombing by the blood of the lamb – or knows someone who has – can check out the novel at the website: http://www.theprotest.org.

If you would like to be notified pre-publication of the e-novel’s imminent release, and to enjoy a discount, feel free to leave your email address. I promise not to spam or sell your information, just a friendly heads up to give you the inside scoop when the book is out there before the throngs go after it!

 

 

 

About dkbunnell

Author, blogger, speaker.
This entry was posted in Book Launches, Launches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ice Ax – Postponed

  1. dkbunnell says:

    Will do, John. Thanks for your interest.

Leave a Reply

